“Changing People's Lives”
Contact UsContact Us

New ATEC Chair and Board Members

Posted on December 13, 2023

Mr Greg Bassani OAM, ATEC CEO, is delighted to announce ATEC’s three new Board members and Chair as a result of an AGM held on 12 December.

Mr Bassani congratulated Mr Ian Curry on his appointment to the position of ATEC Board Chairman. Mr Curry has been Acting as Chair for the past two months and brings a wealth of experience having already served on the ATEC Board for many years. Mr Curry stepped in as Acting Chair following the retirement of former Chairman John Gresty after an impressive 32 years on the ATEC Board. Mr Bassani also thanked retiring Board member Mr Chas Cini, who has served on the ATEC Board for the past seven years.

Mr Bassani also welcomed three new Board members who were elected to the ATEC Board during the AGM. Firstly, leading Adelaide businesswoman, Ms Julie Durand has joined the ATEC Board. Mr Bassani explained that Ms Durand’s extensive experience in urban development and building and development would be a huge asset. “Ms Durand is currently the State General Manager for Burbank Homes so has first-hand experience in the construction industry,” explained Mr Bassani. “In joining the Board Ms Durand brings many years of direct experience working in the construction industry with several residential construction companies coupled with her extensive qualifications and knowledge of strategic planning,” said Mr Bassani.

“We were also very pleased to welcome Mr Jim Watson to the ATEC Board,” said Mr Bassani. Originally with a trade background as a boilermaker, Mr. Watson has most recently been working in high-level government roles as a Ministerial Advisor and Senior Ministerial Liaison Officer.

“In joining the ATEC Board, Mr Watson brings a wide range of both practical experience and government liaison insights,” said Mr Bassani. Mr Watson has also held positions as Assistant State Secretary/Industrial Organiser/ with the Australian Manufacturing Workers Union for more than 17 years.

The final new ATEC Board member is Ms. Lynne Austin, a recent ATEC CEO who has more than 30 years of experience in leadership roles, predominantly in the VET sector. Lynne held the role of ATEC CEO from 2010 to 2022 and brings her vast VET experience to the Board. “Ms Austin’s appointment to the Board will be a huge asset to ATEC because of her deep insights into vocational training and experience in other high-level Boards.”

Full list of ATEC Board Members; Mr Ian Curry- Chair, Mr Doug Searle- Deputy Chair, Mr Kevin Petherick, Mr Chris Pyne, Ms Julie Durand, Ms Lynne Austin, Mr Greg Bassani and Mr Jim Watson.

Group Training Organisation ATEC's Board Members
Left to right - Lynne Austin, Jim Watson, Ian Curry and Julie Durrand

Get the latest announcements and up-to-date information from ATEC

View all news

Do you have a question about any of the information here?

Make an Enquiry